La Mesa’s fee schedule prices permit issuance at $44.10. On its own La Mesa page, Benson Electric names Federal Pacific and Zinsco and prints License 1108923.
What the utility actually wrote
Confirm the logo on the bill before anyone prices the job.
La Mesa is a San Diego Community Power city on SDG&E’s active community-choice list. Community Power’s terms say its generation charge replaces SDG&E’s, SDG&E still charges for delivery, and one monthly bill comes from SDG&E. A customer who opts out goes back to SDG&E generation, so the bill decides.
The city FAQ requires a permit for all electrical alterations. For a meter-panel change, the closest SDG&E document we found is the August 2026 Electric Rewire fact sheet. File the request at sdge.com/apply-service, and an SDG&E Project Manager then writes the service/work order with the approved meter location and any fees. The fact sheet asks that the permit number and the address match what SDG&E has on file.
On a same-location job, the SDG&E crew disconnects the meter and service in the morning, the city inspects the same day, and the city notifies SDG&E of completion by 2:00 p.m. to restore service.
A relocated panel goes in at the approved location before anything is disconnected. The city notifies SDG&E within 2 business days of the final inspection, and SDG&E then sends a crew to disconnect the old location and reconnect the new one.
The sheet does not state how many hours the power is off.
Permits for a La Mesa address
City Hall houses Building Division at 8130 Allison Avenue.
Who pulls the permit matters. The Owner/Builder Addendum is the paper La Mesa hands you when the property owner signs. The Permits for Homeowners page also asks a homeowner who will not hire anyone to sign an Owner-Builder Statement.
MaintStar takes the digital packet. Building Division hours are Monday through Thursday, 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., and Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The office is closed alternate Fridays.
The city’s fee schedule, still posted as the FY 2024-2025 edition, prices permit issuance at $44.10. Upgrading existing service adds $0.50 per ampere.
The C-10 on Benson’s La Mesa page is 1108923, and the permit should carry that same number.
Price, without inventing one
The city’s fee schedule lists permit issuance at $44.10. Install quotes come from shops.
Landers’ Bonsall page lists overhead service at $3,500 to $5,500. RCH’s Fallbrook page starts a 100A to 200A upgrade at $5,500. Neither page names La Mesa.
CSLB Instant License Check is public. Type 1108923. Benson’s La Mesa page prints that C-10. On 11/2/2026 CSLB showed the license as current and active, class C10 Electrical, issued to TRIP ELECTRIC INC DBA BENSON ELECTRIC and expiring 08/31/2027. Workers’ compensation is on file with Employers Preferred Insurance Company, policy EIG6200446, which ends 11/07/2026, so look at the current CSLB entry before you sign. Landers and RCH are listed for their prices alone.
The listed shop is not affiliated with Panel Letter.
What to hand the carrier
Upload the closed MaintStar electrical record, which carries the inspector’s pass. If Benson’s invoice prints 1108923, include it. Panel photographs belong in the packet if the carrier’s letter asked for them, and a load calculation if the electrician wrote one.
The carrier’s letter is the list to follow.
Typical replacement cost
La Mesa’s $44.10 covers the permit only, and the two shop prices below come from different jobs
$3,500 to $5,500
Bonsall shop overhead cell on the county upgrade URL
On Landers’ Bonsall upgrade page, overhead service is $3,500 to $5,500. RCH’s Fallbrook page puts a $5,500 floor under a 100A to 200A service upgrade. Neither page names La Mesa, and the two do not describe the same job. Cost source only.
Source: Landers ElectricFrom $5,500
RCH 100-to-200 starting price on the Fallbrook electrical page
RCH’s Fallbrook electrical page lists a 100A to 200A service upgrade from $5,500. On Landers’ own Bonsall page, overhead service is $3,500 to $5,500, and that shop is not RCH. Cost source only. Permit issuance is $44.10 under the city schedule, a separate cost.
Source: RCH Renewables
Permit
City of La Mesa Building Division
Who pulls it: The Building Division is at City Hall, 8130 Allison Avenue, La Mesa, CA 91942. The published building line is (619) 667-1176. Hours on that page are Monday through Thursday, 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., and Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., with the office closed alternate Fridays. Applications go through the MaintStar Permit Portal at h9.maintstar.co/LaMesa/portal. Once an account is created, you may apply for a permit, submit plans, receive invoices, schedule inspections, and check status online. The city FAQ says permits are required for all electrical, mechanical, or plumbing alterations. A property owner, contractor, licensed design professional, or authorized agent may apply. Once the permit is approved and ready to issue, the Permit Declaration Form must be signed by the property owner, an authorized agent, or the licensed contractor. A separate Owner/Builder Addendum is required if the permit is signed by the property owner. Both forms are provided at the time of approval. The Permits for Homeowners page says the city cannot issue a permit without either workers' compensation insurance or a completed Owner-Builder Statement. Inspection requests go through MaintStar on an issued permit. Inspections may be scheduled for the next business day if requested by 4 p.m. the day prior. The FY 2024-2025 fee schedule, still posted as current and effective April 1, 2025, prices Electrical Permit Fees issuance at $44.10. New Service on an existing building is $0.50 per ampere. Upgrade existing service is $0.50 per ampere added. Remodel or alteration with no change in service is $14.20 per circuit. Temporary service or pole is $23.10.
Who pulls the permit matters. The Owner/Builder Addendum is the form La Mesa provides when the property owner signs the permit. The C-10 on Benson’s La Mesa page is 1108923, and the permit should carry that same number.
Utility coordination
SDG&E August 2026 rewire sheet and a Community Power bill
Who disconnects: Read the electric logo first. La Mesa is a San Diego Community Power city on SDG&E’s active community-choice list. Community Power’s terms say its generation charge replaces SDG&E’s, SDG&E still charges for delivery, and one monthly bill comes from SDG&E. A customer who opts out goes back to SDG&E generation, so the bill decides. For a meter-panel change, the closest SDG&E document we found is the August 2026 Electric Rewire fact sheet. File at sdge.com/apply-service, and an SDG&E Project Manager then provides a service/work order with the approved meter location and any fees. The fact sheet asks that the permit number and the address match what SDG&E has on file. On a same-location job, the SDG&E crew disconnects the meter and service in the morning, the city inspects the same day, and the city notifies SDG&E of completion by 2:00 p.m. to restore service. A relocated panel goes in at the approved location before anything is disconnected. The city notifies SDG&E within 2 business days of the final inspection, and SDG&E then sends a crew to disconnect the old location and reconnect the new one. Confirm the logo on the bill before anyone prices the job.
Outage window: SDG&E’s August 2026 sheet does not state how many hours the power is off.
Request inspections through MaintStar on the issued permit. The city FAQ says an inspection may be scheduled for the next business day if requested by 4 p.m. the day prior.
What to hand the insurer
- Closed City of La Mesa electrical permit from MaintStar
- Passed Building Division inspection on that same record
- Invoice that reprints the California C-10 used on the MaintStar permit
- Photographs of the old and new panel, if the carrier’s letter asks for them
- Load calculation, if the shop wrote one
Ask your agent for the exact list. Carriers do not publish a single national checklist.
Electricians who advertise this job
A shop is listed only if it advertises Federal Pacific, Zinsco, or insurance-driven panel replacement on its own site and prints a license number there. Trade-association locators already exist. We will not pad this list. Verify the license before you hire.
To get introduced, use the quote form on this page. We do not send you to the shop from here.
Benson Electric
La Mesa, CA
Published license: 1108923 (California Contractors State License Board)
Own La Mesa page that names Federal Pacific and Zinsco panel upgrades and La Mesa, and that prints License 1108923.
How this page was built
Compiled by Panel Letter on 2026-11-02 from the public pages below. If a fact was not on a cited page, it is marked as unverified in the copy. This is a research guide, not a bid.
- Benson Electric, La Mesa CA electrical services
Names La Mesa throughout. Prints License #1108923 and California Licensed C-10 Contractor #1108923. Writes Many La Mesa homes still run on legacy Federal Pacific or Zinsco panels that need to come out before adding modern loads. Does not print a dollar band. Shop phone (619) 390-1922. Office 15798 Miss Ellie Ln, Suite C, Lakeside, CA 92040.
- CSLB, License 1108923
Official lookup. TRIP ELECTRIC INC DBA BENSON ELECTRIC, 15798 MISS ELLIE LN LAKESIDE, CA 92040. Current and active. Classification C10 ELECTRICAL. Issue 08/17/2023. Expire 08/31/2027. Workers' compensation with the Employers Preferred Insurance Company, policy EIG6200446, effective 11/07/2025, expire 11/07/2026. Data current as of 11/2/2026 6:08:53 PM.
- Landers Electric, Electrical panel upgrade
Prints Overhead Service (Power lines above your house with a service drop connecting to your electrical panel above your roof) $3,500 to $5,500. Prints Underground Service $7,000 to $20,000. Cost source only here.
- RCH Renewables, Electrician and panel upgrades
Prints Service upgrade (100A to 200A) From $5,500. Prints insurance compliance From $5,500. Names Federal Pacific and Zinsco replacements. Prints CSLB License #1108682. Cost source only here.
- City of La Mesa, Building
Building Division 8130 Allison Avenue La Mesa, CA 91942. Phone 619.667.1176. Hours Monday through Thursday 7:30 am to 5:30 pm. Friday 7:30 am to 4:30 pm. Closed alternate Fridays. The City is now accepting applications and plans electronically through the MaintStar Permit Portal at https://h9.maintstar.co/LaMesa/portal/#/.
- City of La Mesa, Frequently asked questions
Permits are required for all electrical, mechanical, or plumbing alterations. Applications go through the MaintStar Permit Portal. A property owner, contractor, licensed design professional, or authorized agent may apply for a permit. Once the permit is approved and ready to issue, the Permit Declaration Form must be signed by the property owner, authorized agent of the property owner, or the licensed contractor. A separate Owner/Builder Addendum is required if the permit is signed by the property owner. Both forms are provided at the time of approval. Inspection requests go through MaintStar. Inspections may be scheduled for the next business day if requested by 4 p.m. the day prior.
- City of La Mesa, Permits for homeowners
Contractors licensed by the State of California or their agents may obtain permits. Homeowners may also obtain permits. If you will be hiring anyone, you may have to purchase Workers' Compensation Insurance. If you will not be hiring anyone, the city asks you to sign an Owner-Builder Statement. The city cannot issue a permit without either insurance or the completed Owner-Builder Statement. It is the property owner's responsibility to make sure the inspections are made.
- City of La Mesa, FY 2024-2025 fee schedule
Posted as the current schedule, effective April 1, 2025. Electrical Permit Fees. 1. For the issuance of each permit $44.10. 2. New Construction for each ampere of main service, switch, fuse or breaker $0.50. 3. New Service on existing building for each ampere in main service, switch, fuse or breaker $0.50. 4. Remodel or alteration with no change in service for each circuit $14.20. 5. Temporary service or pole $23.10. 6. Upgrade existing service for each ampere of main service, switch, fuse or breaker added $0.50.
- City of La Mesa, Fee schedule index
FY 2024-2025 Fee Schedule (Current). Fee schedule is effective April 1, 2025. City Hall 8130 Allison Avenue, La Mesa, CA 91942.
- SDG&E, Electric rewire overhead and underground, August 2026
Same location option A. Contact your SDG&E Project Manager to schedule an SDG&E crew to disconnect your meter and service. Then contact the city/county to schedule an inspection for the same day. The SDG&E crew will arrive in the morning of the scheduled day to disconnect your meter and service. The city/county will inspect the installation of the meter panel and notify SDG&E of completion by 2:00 p.m. on the same day to restore electrical service. New location option B. The city/county will notify SDG&E within 2 business days. File the request at sdge.com/apply-service.
- CSLB, Check a License
Official California contractor lookup.
- SDG&E, Active CCAs
Lists San Diego Community Power member cities Chula Vista, Encinitas, Imperial Beach, La Mesa, National City, San Diego and unincorporated San Diego County.
- San Diego Community Power, Terms and conditions
Customers receive a single monthly bill from SDG&E that includes Community Power’s generation charges, and SDG&E continues to charge for electric delivery.